State Tax Laws - Michigan

Personal tax rates are a flat 4.25% of federal AGI with an exemption of $3,950 for single filers or $7,900 for married couples. Dependents give an extra $2,300 each. Social security and most pension income is exempt. Sales tax is a flat 6%. Michigan currently does not collect an estate tax.

Corporate taxes are a flat 6%. In addition the Single Business tax comes into pay for any business activity that earns over $350,000 in Michigan, including sales of real estate, real estate rental activities, and fees for personal services. This is a 1.9% tax that has several tax credits that can be applied toward it, but still adds up. More Michigan tax information can be found at: http://www.michigan.gov/taxes


1 (888) 547-4614

© 1stTax.com 2016 – tax savings are just a click away