State Tax Laws - North Carolina

Starting in 2015, North Carolina will have a flat tax rate of 5.75%. Standard deduction is $3,000, or double when married, exemptions are $1,200 for single or $2,500 if married. No additional is given for dependents. Sales tax is 4.75%, but counties and cities can charge 2-3% more. The estate tax in North Carolina has been instituted and repealed several times. Currently there is no estate tax.

The corporate income tax rate is a flat 6.9%. North Carolina also imposes a franchise tax of $1.50 per $1,000. For more information please see: http://www.dor.state.nc.us/


1 (888) 547-4614

© 1stTax.com 2016 – tax savings are just a click away